It's official!! The policyholder approved merger was approved by the Minnesota Department of Commerce for a January 1, 2020 effective date.  The merger of Kelso and Shelby Farmers Mutual of Amboy and South Central Mutual of Blue Earth is now a combination of seven original township mutuals that were formed in the 1800's.  These original seven companies are:
  • Foster Farmers Mutual Insurance Company
  • Barber Farmer Mutual Insurance Company
  • Blue Earth Mutual Insurance Company
  • Kelso Farmers Mutual Insurance Company
  • Shelby Farmers Mutual Insurance Company
  • DesMoines German Mutual Fire & Lightning Insurance Company of Jackson & Martin Counties
  • Jackson County Mutual Fire & Lightning Insurance Company
These successful mergers have occurred over the years to create stronger and more flexible companies that adapt to the ever changing world of farming and the...
Read more